No support for latest uTorrent

Here you can find answers to various Torrent Ratio Keeper related questions.
Post Reply
syntech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:39 am

No support for latest uTorrent

Post by syntech » Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:19 am

TRK Monster v3.9.8 works more or less with uTorrent v2.2 (built 23071) but doesn't work with the latest stable built 23703.

Windows7 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
administrator
Support
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by administrator » Sun Dec 12, 2010 12:24 pm

Hello,

Please follow next steps:
1. Check if your uTorrent executable (exe-file) has name utorrent.exe. Rename it to utorrent.exe if its not.
2. Try to launch TRK and uTorrent with Administrative privileges.

syntech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:39 am

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by syntech » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:11 pm

administrator wrote:Hello,

Please follow next steps:
1. Check if your uTorrent executable (exe-file) has name utorrent.exe. Rename it to utorrent.exe if its not.
2. Try to launch TRK and uTorrent with Administrative privileges.
Sure, It was done first.
But another funny things, TRK installs by default to:
"C:\Users\"User"\AppData\Roaming\Torrent Ratio Keeper\",
and forced installation to "C:\Program Files" or "C:\Program Files (x86)" makes TRK non-workable with any version of the uTorrent.
Also, in the installation folder presents the HML file with name Histroy. Should it be History?

User avatar
administrator
Support
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by administrator » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:07 am

If Windows UAC is on (default Vista/7 settings), the "Program Files" folder is virtual. It doesn't allow to self-update the app without UAC popup, but many applications like Google Chrome, antiviruses require often self-update (bug fixes, new signatures, new modules, etc). Developers found that UAC popup is very annoying for users and the way to avoid it is to install the software to the other folder. Google installs the software to "C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Roaming\" and we decided to do the same.

Histroy.xml stores trackers' statistics. It's not a spelling mistake. :)

P.S. If you install to "C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Roaming\", does TRK work fine?

syntech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:39 am

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by syntech » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:12 pm

Yes, it works only in "C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Roaming\".

User avatar
administrator
Support
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by administrator » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:19 pm

Thank you for reply. We will add it to FAQ. Users don't change install folder in most cases. Actually, you can install TRK to any folder except virtual folders (Windows, Program Files).

syntech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:39 am

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by syntech » Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:14 pm

administrator wrote:Hello,

Please follow next steps:
1. Check if your uTorrent executable (exe-file) has name utorrent.exe. Rename it to utorrent.exe if its not.
2. Try to launch TRK and uTorrent with Administrative privileges.
For some strange reason TRK doesn't 'works when uTorrent launched with Administrative privileges, but works otherwise.

User avatar
administrator
Support
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: No support for latest uTorrent

Post by administrator » Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:39 am

syntech wrote:
administrator wrote:Hello,

Please follow next steps:
1. Check if your uTorrent executable (exe-file) has name utorrent.exe. Rename it to utorrent.exe if its not.
2. Try to launch TRK and uTorrent with Administrative privileges.
For some strange reason TRK doesn't 'works when uTorrent launched with Administrative privileges, but works otherwise.
We will install Windows 7 64bit for tests. Thank you for your report!

JohnOrini
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:23 am

No support for latest uTorrent

Post by JohnOrini » Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:08 am

Hi are the any tips for starting, if I try and start from cold it takes me about 20 times to get it started, is this normal? If not any tips I can try

Post Reply